Anna Scaife, Professor of Radio Astronomy at the Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics who also lead the AENEAS design of compute requirements for the European SKA regional center will be the 2019 recipient of the Jackson-Gwilt Medal, one of the highest honours the Royal Astronomical Society can bestow on a researcher.

Prof Scaife will receive the prize for being “a world leader” in radio astronomy and leading on numerous international projects for the new generation of large radio telescopes, such as the Low-Frequency Array (LOFAR) and Square Kilometre Array (SKA).

Scaife is keen to recognise her international collaborators for their contributions to her work. She said: “It’s an honour to be recognised by the RAS with this award. Modern radio astronomy is a collaborative international effort and I would like to thank all of the colleagues I have worked with in these projects, and to dedicate this medal to them.”

Read full press release by the University of Manchester.